Icons: Albert Einstein and Freddie Mercury

 

I’ve chosen to use Albert Einstein for one my iconic people, the other being Freddie Mercury, because he is one of the, if not the most influential physicist. Everybody has heard of him and most people are aware of why he is so famous. Also a lot of the courses at kendal college are science based so Einstein will be a good example to represent them.

Albert Einstein was born 14th March 1879 a German-born theoretical physicist. He developed the general theory of relativity, one of the two pillars of modern physics . Einstein’s work is also known for its influence on the philosophy of science. Einstein is best known for his mass energy equivalence formula E = mc2 (which has been dubbed “the world’s most famous equation”). He received the 1921 Nobel Prize in Physics for his “services to theoretical physics”, in particular his discovery of the law of the photoelectric effect, a pivotal step in the evolution of quantum theory.

I’ve chosen to use Freddie Mercury as my other Iconic person because In my opinion he is one of the most influential singers and Musicians within the music industry. He was a British singer, songwriter and record producer, best known as the lead singer and songwriter of the rock band Queen. As a performer, he was known for his flamboyant stage persona and powerful vocals. As a songwriter, he composed many hits for Queen Including “Bohemian Rhapsody,” “Don’t Stop Me Now,” and “We Are the Champions.” Mercury also led a solo career, and also occasionally served as a producer and guest musician for other artists.

I’ll work towards producing two digital pieces, one about Albert Einstein and the second about Freddie Mercury. I’ll probably create the Mercury piece in the form of promotional poster and I might do the Einstein piece in the form of a Craig and Karl style. I’m also going to incorporate a Constructivism style into both of them through the colors, shapes and lines.

For inspiration I’ll look further into Constructivism artists and the art movement as a whole but I’ve done the main bulk of my artist research already so I don’t intend to look much further into Constructivism, but more instead into more modern styles via websites such as Pinterest and Behance.

Once I’ve created work samples and test pieces, to determine whether it was a good sample or whether it was successful or not I’ll gather enough feedback that’ll determine whether it was good, what doesn’t work, whether it needs improving or not and if so, what needs improving.

 

Feedback

