Photogram samples

The first four images below are my first samples for this project in order. To make these samples I used a cut out and the templates from the cut out, which came from one of the drawings which is in “Drawings for Photogram samples” to make these four samples. These samples were inspired by a workshop (Photography workshop and Pierre Cordier) that I did previously in the project which was based on the artist Pierre Cordier who created Chemigrams which were photograms but with a mixture of chemistry to create interesting effects.

The first sample I did with the cut out pieces which can be seen in the last image. I put them on an A5 sized piece of light sensitive paper and left the light on for roughly 5-6 seconds which turned out to be way too long. but Something interesting did happen which I didn’t mean to happen which was that the line marks that were on the cutouts came up on the photogram which i found really interesting because I thought the paper was thick enough to block out that much light. The paper that I was using for the cut outs was a bit thicker than normal paper so in the next samples I want to try and use and actual photograph of a landscape, on thinner paper to see if the image will carry through onto the photogram. The next sample I simply used the paper left from the cut out to create the opposite effect, but I used this sample to see how much time I needed to expose the paper for and I found out that for this type of photogram, about 1 or 2 seconds is the optimum amount of time. For the Third Sample I did the same thing as I did in the second sample but this time I used a see through plastic sheet to draw a design onto and placed it over the  original template. The tape that I used for this sample is in the second to last image. The fourth sample is also test piece to try and find the right amount of time needed for the photograms.

What I found out about these photograms is that the edges of the templates need to be incredibly smooth and neat because the photograms are very detailed. I also found out that when I come to do the drawing or image to go inside the paw print, i need to go into a lot of detail to get a good effect and if I’m going to use paper for the image, I need to use thin paper so that it shows up on the photogram. Another thing is that I really like how different each photogram looked because each one had different shades so if i put them all lined up together it will become quite a nice pattern, in theory.

photo 1 (1) photo 2 (1)photo 2 (2)photo 1 (2)   photo 3 (1) photo 4

Feedback

